Disclaimer: The content provided here is for informational purposes only. For the latest rules and regulations, please visit the official government website. Additionally, it's essential to consult with an authorized medical professional for any health-related & diet-related concerns. Sip Responsibly!!! Please Don't Drink & Drive!!! WARNING: Drinking distilled spirits, beer, coolers, wine and other alcoholic beverages may increase cancer risk, and, during pregnancy, can cause birth defects!!!
Dry Days: Understanding Alcohol Restrictions in India

Dry Days: Understanding Alcohol Restrictions in India

Date: February 1, 2024


Dry Days: Balancing Tradition, Commerce, and Governance in India


In India, "dry days" refer to specific dates on which the sale of alcohol is prohibited either nationwide or within specific states or regions. These dry days are often observed on national holidays such as Republic Day (January 26th), Independence Day (August 15th), and Gandhi Jayanti (October 2nd).
Additionally, dry days may also coincide with religious festivals or observances, such as certain days during Ramadan for Muslim communities or major Hindu festivals like Holi and Diwali. The specific dates of dry days can vary from state to state based on local regulations and cultural practices.
The purpose of declaring dry days is to promote cultural and religious sensitivity, as well as to prevent public disturbances or accidents that may arise from the consumption of alcohol during important national or religious events.

Dry day list for Lok Sabha Elections 2024
Sunday, 5 May, 6 pm to Tuesday, 7 May 6 pm : Lok Sabha Elections (Baramati constituency)
Saturday, 11 May, 6 pm to Monday, 13 May, 6 pm : Lok Sabha Elections (Pune, Shirur and Maval constituencies)
Saturday, 18 May to Monday, 20 May : Lok Sabha Elections (Mumbai)
Tuesday, 4 June : Lok Sabha Elections vote count

A list of dry days in India in 2024

3 days in January
Monday, 15 January : Makar Sankranti
Friday, 26 January : Republic Day
Wednesday, 30 January : Shaheed Diwas (only in Maharashtra)


1 day in February
Monday, 19 February : Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti (only in Maharashtra)

4 days in March
Tuesday, 5 March : Swami Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti
Friday, 8 March : Shivratri
Monday, 25 March : Holi
Friday, 29 March : Good Friday

10 days in April
Wednesday, 10 April : Eid ul-Fitr
Saturday, 14 April : Ambedkar Jayanti
Wednesday, 17 April : Ram Navami
Wednesday 17 April, 6 pm to Friday, 19 April : Lok Sabha Elections (Rajasthan, Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe, Yanam and Andaman and Nicobar islands)
Wednesday, 17 April, 4 pm to Friday, 19 April, 4 pm : Lok Sabha Elections (Manipur)
Sunday, 21 April : Mahavir Jayanti
Wednesday, 24 April, 6 pm to Friday, 26 April : Lok Sabha Elections (Rajasthan, Kerala)
Wednesday, 24 April, 4 pm to Friday, 26 April, 4 pm : Lok Sabha Elections (Manipur)
Wednesday, 24 April, 6 pm to Friday, 26 April, 6 pm : Lok Sabha Elections (Border areas of Uttar Pradesh)

6 days in May
Monday, 1 May : Maharashtra Day (only in Maharashtra)
Monday, 13 May : Lok Sabha Elections (Andhra Pradesh)
Friday, 17 May : Bakrid
Thursday, 23 May : Buddha Purnima
Thursday, 23 May- Saturday, 25 May: Lok Sabha Elections (Delhi)

2 days in June
Tuesday, 4 June : Lok Sabha Elections vote count (Delhi, Rajasthan, Puducherry, Manipur, Andaman and Nicobar Islands)
Monday, 17 June : Id-ul-Zuha (Delhi)

2 days in July
Wednesday, 17 July : Muharram and Ashadi Ekadashi
Sunday, 21 July : Guru Purnima

2 days in August
Wednesday, 15 August : Independence Day
Monday, 26 August : Janmashthami

2 days in September
Saturday, 7 September : Ganesh Chaturthi (only in Maharashtra)
Tuesday, 17 September : Eid-e-Milad and Anant Chaturdashi

4 days in October
Tuesday, 2 October : Gandhi Jayanti
Monday, 8 October : Prohibition Week (only in Maharashtra)
Saturday, 12 October : Dussehra
Thursday, 17 October : Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti

3 days in November
Friday, 1 November : Diwali
Tuesday, 12 November : Kartiki Ekadashi
Friday, 15 November : Guru Nanak Jayanti

1 day in December
Tuesday, 25 December : Christmas

How to get drinking liquor license : Click Here to Apply Now

Related Articles

Liquor Bottle Statutory Warnings Effective in Promoting Responsible Drinking

Are Liquor Bottle Statutory Warnings Effective in Promoting Responsible Drinking?

Date: January 25, 2024

Promoting Public Health: The Importance of Statutory Warnings on Liquor Bottles Under FSSAI Regulations
Image1 for Home Remedies for Alcohol Protection

Home Remedies For Protecting Your Liver Against Alcohol Consumption

Date: January 20, 2024

Protect Your Liver: Simple Home Remedies for Safeguarding Against Alcohol Consumption
Image1 for How to Obtain Your Liquor License Certificate In Maharashtra

Exploring the Health Benefits and Risks of Moderate Liquor Consumption

Date: January 15, 2024

Mindful Drinking: Understanding the Impact of Liquor on Health and Wellness
Image1 Benefits of Having Drinking Liquor License Certificate in Maharashtra

Benefits of Having Drinking Liquor License Certificate in Maharashtra

Date: January 10, 2024

Certainly, having a drinking liquor license certificate in Maharashtra comes with its own set of benefits:
Image1 for How to Obtain Your Liquor License Certificate In Maharashtra

How to Obtain Your Liquor License Certificate in Maharashrta ?

Date: January 5, 2024

Looking to obtain a permit for purchasing a liquor license certificate? Let us guide you through the hassle-free process on myonlineliquor.com, where convenience meets quality service!